Britt Lintner – Hedge fund MD and fashion entrepreneur

Britt-Litner-the-financie-001

What motivates you? 

Working with a conscience.

What has been the biggest learning curve in your career? 

Negotiating and setting boundaries.

Ambition or talent?

Ambition.

What advice would you give to your 30 year old self?

Save your money and sleep as much as you can.

Who do you admire?

Countless people but at the moment, Arianna Huffington.

In what place are you happiest? 

When I’m genuinely focused in the moment, I’m tired of leading a distracted life. It’s a work in progress…

What’s your biggest extravagance? 

Clothes and accessories, by a long shot.

How would you change government policy to help women in the workplace? 

I would re-define flexibility. Let part time work be based on merit and meeting targets. Therefore a ‘4 day work week/flexi-time’ role may mean 5 days one week and 48 hours straight (e.g. an IPO hitting the market) the next depending on the work load and the job at hand. Face time and clock watching needs to stop. I spoke at Goldman recently and they put this quote of mine on their intranet: “we need to re-define flexibility. Not in the sense of hours but in terms of output and work ethic. Trust me to do my job regardless of when or where I am working – women need to have the confidence to make a point of this.”

Do you believe in quotas?

Yes. We need solutions to this 4th wave of feminism we’re in. The awareness is there but solutions aren’t.  I love the suffragettes slogan, ‘deeds not words’.  It should be a mantra for all aspects of life.

Describe myself in 3 words? 

I prefer modesty.

Leave a comment